the rock wall

When we moved in, our backyard fence had a hole making our yard continuous with the parking lot of some small businesses. Mr. T took a bunch of the rocks that were lying around the yard, piled them behind the garage, and made a rock wall.IMG_3518 IMG_3517

Although the rock wall was very pretty, I was still a bit concerned about strangers wandering into our yard from the commercial district. Mr. T went to home depot with his dad and fixed the fence!

IMG_3550

I’ve been knitting some (finished some top down mittens in the grape koolaid colorway) but I haven’t taken many pictures because I can’t find the camera. Here’s a picture I took a while back of the first thing I knit in college (it inspired the koigu sweater).

IMG_3369IMG_3370

A huge group was knitting in the tv lounge in my dorm and while I mostly crocheted or made macrame bracelets in college, I knew I could knit too. I don’t think I’d touched knitting needles since elementary school except briefly in high school when I tried to knit a sweater – I made about 1/3 of the back before giving up which is good because there is no way I had enough yarn for a sweater. Anyway, everyone was making super oversized garter stitch scarves from acrylic yarn and when I went home for winter break, I skimmed through my sister’s copy of the reader’s digest needlework book and found this awesome cable pattern. I was going to make it a scarf but a) the edges curled b) I got bored and c) there wasn’t enough yarn for a scarf. And yes, I’m pretty sure the yarn was acrylic but I found it in my stash and it was actually soft.

Leave a Reply

